Méga Prix attribué à cinq mathématiciens d’exception

Imprimer la pageImprimer la page || VERSION PDF: Enregistrer au format PDF
JPG - 189.4 ko

Les Breakthrough Prizes ont été fondés par Sergey Brin (Google), Anne Wojcicki, Jack Ma, Cathy Zhang, Yuri et Julia Milner, Mark Zuckerberg (Facebook) et Priscilla Chan.

L’objectif de ces prix est de célébrer des scientifiques et de susciter l’intérêt pour entreprendre une carrière en science.

Les lauréats de chaque prix sont choisis par un comité de sélection comprenant les lauréats du Breakthrough Prize des années précédentes.

Les cinq lauréats du premier Breakthrough Prize en mathématique ont été désignés le 23 juin 2014 :
- Simon Donaldson,
- Maxim Kontsevitch,
- Jacob Lurie,
- Terence Tao,
- Richard Taylor.

Les lauréats viendront chercher leur trophée lors d’un cérémonie en novembre prochain au cours de laquelle ils recevront chacun 3 millions de dollars.

Ils ont accepté de faire partie du comité de sélection, chargé de choisir un lauréat. A partir de 2015, un seul Breakthrough Prize en mathématique sera attribué.

June 23, 2014 (San Francisco) – The Breakthrough Prize Foundation announces five winners of the inaugural Breakthrough Prize in Mathematics :

Simon Donaldson, Stony Brook University and Imperial College London, for the new revolutionary invariants of 4-dimensional manifolds and for the study of the relation between stability in algebraic geometry and in global differential geometry, both for bundles and for Fano varieties.

Maxim Kontsevich, Institut des Hautes Études Scientifiques, for work making a deep impact in a vast variety of mathematical disciplines, including algebraic geometry, deformation theory, symplectic topology, homological algebra and dynamical systems.

Jacob Lurie, Harvard University, for his work on the foundations of higher category theory and derived algebraic geometry ; for the classification of fully extended topological quantum field theories ; and for providing a moduli-theoretic interpretation of elliptic cohomology.

Terence Tao, University of California, Los Angeles, for numerous breakthrough contributions to harmonic analysis, combinatorics, partial differential equations and analytic number theory.

Richard Taylor, Institute for Advanced Study, for numerous breakthrough results in the theory of automorphic forms, including the Taniyama-Weil conjecture, the local Langlands conjecture for general linear groups, and the Sato-Tate conjecture.

The Breakthrough Prize in Mathematics was launched by Mark Zuckerberg and Yuri Milner at the Breakthrough Prize ceremony last December. It aims to recognize major advances in the field, honor the world’s best mathematicians, support their future endeavors and communicate the excitement of mathematics to general public.

The laureates will be presented with their trophies and $3 million each at the Breakthrough Prize ceremony in November.

All five recipients of the Prize have agreed to serve on the Selection Committee, responsible for choosing subsequent winners of the prize from the pool of contenders nominated by the mathematics community. From 2015 onwards, one Breakthrough Prize in Mathematics will be awarded every year.

Mark Zuckerberg said : “Mathematics is essential for driving human progress and innovation in this century. This year’s Breakthrough Prize winners have made huge contributions to the field and we’re excited to celebrate their efforts.”

Yuri Milner commented : “Mathematics is the most fundamental of the sciences – the language they are all written in. The best mathematical minds benefit us all by expanding the sphere of human knowledge.”

Sources :
- https://breakthroughprize.org/ ?controller=Page&action=news&news_id=18
- https://breakthroughprize.org/

Mis en ligne le 11 juillet 2014 par Charlotte BOUCKAERT