DULBEA is a research department in applied economics at the Université libre de Bruxelles that falls under the auspices of the Solvay Brussels School of Economics and Management. Its specificity stems from the focus it puts on the development of tools for decision making in economic and social matters. Social relevance and scientific quality are the main drivers behind the department's reputation in the field of applied economics. DULBEA brings together various research units (or teams) specialized in specific themes. These research units are involved in national and international networks of outstanding research centers affiliated with numerous universities. The directors of these units are all part of the academic staff of the Faculty of social, political and economic sciences and of the economics section of the Solvay Brussels School of Economics and Management. The application of a gender approach to economic analysis is a tradition at DULBEA.

The DULBEA GENDER team, directed by Danièle Meulders, focuses specifically on gender studies. Its members are Síle O’Dorchai, Robert Plasman, François Rycx and Ilan Tojerow, who supervise around ten researchers and PhD students. This team's research is on gender economics and equality policies.

Labour market inequalities are one of the major research domains of the team, notably through the continuous participation in the European network ENEGE (European Network of Experts on Gender Equality of the European Commission) in which Danièle Meulders represents Belgium and Robert Plasman Luxembourg as well as in the international network, RG Mage (Labour market and gender) directed by Margaret Maruani assisted by Danièle Meulders. The DULBEA GENDER team has also carried out different research projects in the field of part-time work, atypical work, parental leave, and more generally, the employment effacts of parenthood and "reconciliation" policies, notably in the framework of the coordination and participation in two international and interdisciplinary research projects MOCHO (The Rationale of Motherhood Choices : Influence of Employment Conditions and of Public Policies) and PEPSI (Public policies towards employment of parents and social inclusion).

The expertise of teh DULBEA GENDER team in the field of wage inequalities is based on a long tradition of research on wage formation. In 2010, in the framework of the Belgian Presidency of teh European Union, the team carried out an « Analysis of the gender pay gap in the EU-27 ». The aim was to analyse and compare the gender pay gap throughout the EU and to study its causes. The team's research has also been extended to other income components and various studies have investigated inequality in income and poverty. The project « Belgian Gender and Income Analysis (BGIA) » aimed at measuring inequalities between men's and women's individual incomes and at carrying out a statistical and econometric study of these income gaps and it has led to the definition of new poverty indicators.

Since 2000, the DULBEA GENDER team has realised different research projects in the domain of women and science. In Belgium, the studies Alma Mater and GENIUFanalysed gender inequalities in French-speaking universities. At the international level, the topic was at the core of the projects “Meta-analysis of gender and science research” and “Euro-Mediterranean research cooperation on gender and science: SHE Euro-Mediterranean Research Area (SHEMERA)”. Danièle Meulders and Sile O’Dorchai have also participated in the construction and analysis of the data and indicators of the European Union in the field of women and science: She Figures 2009 and 2012.

 

Conference "Gender and Work"


Monday March 10, 2014 at 14h

Université Libre de Bruxelles, Dupréel room, Building S, 44 avenue Jeanne, 1050 Brussels

PROGRAMME

2 pm: Opening of the conference

Didier Viviers, Rector of ULB: State of the art on gender equality policies at ULB

Danièle Meulders, ULB, DULBEA, MAGE: Presentation of the new Master in labour science with the orientation "Gender and inequalities"

Margaret Maruani, CNRS and Université Paris Descartes - CERLIS, Director of the network « Marché du travail et genre - MAGE »: Women are everywhere, equality nowhere

Jacqueline Laufer, HEC Paris, MAGE: The glass ceiling

Fatiha Talahite, CNRS, CRESSPA, Paris: Gender and labour market in the Middle-East and North Africa

Conclusions by Pascale Vielle, UCL, CIRTES

5 pm: Drink

 

Prof. Danièle Meulders' mission to Burundi

Between February 2 and 9, 2014, Danièle Meulders visited Burundi to teach the course "Work, gender and poverty" to students in the complementary Master on Gender, Institutions and Society at the Université Lumière at Bujumbura.

Le DULBEA sont le centre de recherche en économie appliquée de l’Université Libre de Bruxelles et de la Solvay Brussels School of Economics and Management. Sa spécificité réside dans l’accent mis sur le développement d’outils d’aide à la prise de décision en matière économique et sociale. Utilité sociale et qualité scientifique constituent les composantes majeures qui ont fondé la réputation du département dans le domaine de l’économie appliquée. Le DULBEA s’articule en unités de recherche (ou équipes) organisées autour de différents thèmes. Ces unités de recherche sont impliquées dans des réseaux nationaux et internationaux associant des centres d’excellence de nombreuses universités. Les chefs d’équipes sont tous membres du corps académique de la Faculté des Sciences Sociales, Politiques et Economiques et de la section des Sciences Economiques de la SBS-EM. La prise en compte du genre dans l’analyse économique est une tradition du département.

L’équipe DULBEA GENRE, dirigée par Danièle Meulders, se consacre plus spécifiquement aux études de genre. Ses membres sont Síle O’Dorchai, Robert Plasman, François Rycx et Ilan Tojerow, qui dirigent une dizaine de chercheurs et doctorants. Cette équipe mène des recherches portant sur l’économie du genre et les politiques d’égalité.

Les inégalités sur les marchés du travail sont l’un des grands thèmes de recherche de l’équipe, notamment dans le cadre la participation continue au réseau européen ENEGE (Réseau européen d’experts sur l’égalité de genre de la Commission Européenne) dans lequel Danièle Meulders représente la Belgique et Robert Plasman le Luxembourg et au réseau international, le GDR Mage (Marché du travail et Genre), dirigé par Margaret Maruani dont Danièle Meulders est directrice adjointe.
L’équipe DULBEA GENRE a également développé différentes recherches dans le domaine du travail à temps partiel, des emplois atypiques, des congés parentaux, et plus généralement des effets de la parentalité et des politiques de « conciliation » sur l’emploi, notamment dans le cadre de la coordination et de la participation à deux projets de recherche internationaux et interdisciplinaires MOCHO (The Rationale of Motherhood Choices : Influence of Employment Conditions and of Public Policies) et PEPSI (Public policies towards employment of parents and social inclusion).

L’expertise de l’équipe DULBEA GENRE dans le domaine des inégalités salariales se base sur une longue tradition de recherches sur la formation des salaires. En 2010, dans le cadre de la présidence belge de l’Union l’équipe fut chargée de réaliser une étude « Analysis of the gender pay gap in the EU-27 ». L’objectif était d’analyser et de comparer l’écart salarial de genre à travers l’UE et d’en étudier les causes. Les recherches ont aussi porté sur les autres composantes des revenus et différentes études ont porté sur les inégalités de revenus et la pauvreté. Le projet « Belgian Gender and Income Analysis (BGIA) » dont l’objectif était de mesurer les inégalités entre les revenus individuels des hommes et des femmes, de procéder à une étude statistique et économétrique de ces écarts de revenus, a conduit à la définition de nouveaux indicateurs de pauvreté.

Depuis le début des années 2000, l’équipe DULBEA GENRE a réalisé plusieurs recherches relevant du domaine des femmes et sciences. Pour la Belgique, les études Alma Mater et GENIUF ont analysé les inégalités genre au sein des universités francophones. Au niveau international, le sujet a été au cœur des projets “Meta-analysis of gender and science research” et “Euro-Mediterranean research cooperation on gender and science: SHE Euro-Mediterranean Research Area (SHEMERA)”. Danièle Meulders et Sile O’Dorchai ont participé à la construction et à l’analyse des données et des indicateurs de l’Union européenne sur le thème femmes et sciences : She Figures 2009 et 2012.

 

Conférence "Travail et genre"


lundi 10 mars 2014 à 14h

Université Libre de Bruxelles, Salle Dupréel, Bâtiment S, 44 avenue Jeanne, 1050 Bruxelles

PROGRAMME

14h: Ouverture

Didier Viviers, Recteur de l’ULB: Bilan des politiques d’égalité de genre à l’ULB

Danièle Meulders, ULB, DULBEA, MAGE: Présentation du nouveau master en sciences du travail à finalité « Genre et inégalités »

Margaret Maruani, CNRS et Université Paris Descartes - CERLIS, directrice du réseau « Marché du travail et genre - MAGE »: Les femmes sont partout, l'égalité nulle part

Jacqueline Laufer, HEC Paris, MAGE: Le plafond de verre

Fatiha Talahite, CNRS, CRESSPA, Paris: Genre et marché du travail au Moyen-Orient et en Afrique du Nord

Conclusions par Pascale Vielle, UCL, CIRTES

17h: Drink

Réécoutez les discours:

01. Ouverture par Madame Raymonde YERNA, chef de cabinet adjointe, Cabinet du Minsitre Jean-Claude MARCOURT

02. Mot du recteur Monsieur Didier VIVIERS

03. Exposé de Madame Danièle MEULDERS

04. Exposé de Madame MARUANI

05. Exposé de Madame LAUFER

06. Exposé de Madame TALAHITE

07. DEBAT

08. Conclusions par Madame VIELLE

 

 

Mission de Prof. Danièle Meulders au Burundi

Du 2 au 9 février 2014, Danièle Meulders a été au Burundi où elle a donné le cours "Travail, Genre et Pauvreté" aux étudiants du Master complémentaire en Genre, Institutions et Société à l'Université Lumière de Bujumbura.